Over 50 Groups to Congress: Use the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to Overturn Obama Regulations

Featured Image
January 31, 2017 10:53 pm

January 31, 2017

Dear Senators and Representatives:

On behalf of the millions of Americans that our organizations represent,
we are encouraged to see you take advantage of the unique opportunities
afforded by the Congressional Review Act (CRA). The CRA is a powerful
way for Congress to reassert its lawmaking authority and partner with the
White House in bringing meaningful regulatory relief to millions of
Americans across the country.

Congress has an important duty to work with the Trump administration in
rolling back the regulatory avalanche of the last eight years. Processing
resolutions of disapproval under the CRA is an essential tool for this
because overturning regulations via the CRA creates a permanent bar
against regulators imposing substantially similar rules in the future
without seeking express authorization from Congress.

We therefore applaud your already announced resolutions of disapproval
under the CRA, support their timely passage, and urge additional efforts to
use the CRA to bring as much permanent regulatory relief to the American
people as possible.


Brent Gardner, Chief Government Affairs Officer
Americans for Prosperity

James L. Martin, Founder and Chairman
60 Plus Association

Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment

Tim Doyle, Vice President of Policy and General Counsel
American Council for Capital Formation

Sean Noble, President
American Encore

Gary L. Bauer, President
American Values

Coley Jackson, President
Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Richard Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government

Grover Norquist, President
Americans for Tax Reform

Jim Waters, President
Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions

David Stevenson, Director, Center for Energy Competitiveness
Caesar Rodney Institute

Norm Singleton, President
Campaign For Liberty

Andrew F. Quinlan, President
Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella, President
Center for Individual Freedom

Kim Crockett, Vice President and General Counsel
Center of the American Experiment

Francis X. De Luca, President
Civitas Institute

David McIntosh, President
Club for Growth

Nick Dranias, President & Executive Director
Compact for America Educational Foundation

Kent Lassman, President
Competitive Enterprise Institute

Mark Lucas, President
Concerned Veterans for America

Thomas Schatz, President
Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Katie McAuliffe, Executive Director
Digital Liberty

Craig Richardson, Executive Director
Energy & Environment Legal Institute

David Christensen, VP of Government Affairs
Family Research Council

Andy Koenig, Vice President of Policy
Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Adam Brandon, President and CEO

Andrew Clark, President
Generation Opportunity

William A. Estrada, Esq., Director of Federal Relations
Home School Legal Defense Association

Wayne Hoffman, President
Idaho Freedom Foundation

Carrie Lukas, Managing Director
Independent Women’s Forum

Heather Higgens, President and CEO
Independent Women’s Voice

Andrew Langer, President
Institute for Liberty

Jon Sanders, Director of Regulatory Studies
John Locke Foundation

Seton Motley, President
Less Government

Brett Healy, President
MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Dee Hodges, President
Maryland Taxpayers Association

Forest Thigpen, President
Mississippi Center for Public Policy

Brent Mead, CEO
Montana Policy Institute

Harry C. Alford, President/CEO
National Black Chamber of Commerce

Willes K. Lee, President
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Pete Sepp, President
National Taxpayers Union

William Booher, Interim Executive Director
Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Mike Stenhouse, CEO
Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul J. Gessing, President
Rio Grande Foundation

William Whipple III, President
Secure America’s Future Economy

Teri Christoph, Co-Founder
Smart Girl Politics

David Williams, President
Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips, Founder
Tea Party Nation

Dr. Robert McClure, President and CEO
The James Madison Institute

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO
The Jeffersonian Project

Daniel Garza, President
The LIBRE Initiative

Michael W. Thompson, Chairman and President
Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy

Carl Bearden, Executive Director
United for Missouri

Rose Bogaert, Chair
Wayne County Taxpayers Association

Jonathan Downing, CEO
Wyoming Liberty Group


[Download the coalition letter]